Your Cart

The Red River Slayer: A Riveting Tale of Trauma, Resilience, and Justice

Katie Mettner's The Red River Slayer (book three in the Secure One series published by Harlequin Intrigue) delivers a thrilling blend of suspense, gritty realism, and a dash of romance. This novel bravely tackles complex issues of trauma, guilt, and the relentless pursuit of justice.

At its heart, the story revolves around Char and Mack. Mack Holbock, a wounded veteran turned security expert, harbors guilt from his past which fuels his relentless drive to stop a river-bound serial killer preying upon vulnerable women. Mettner skillfully paints a portrait of a man haunted by echoes of the past, yet his determination makes him instantly compelling.

The introduction of Charlotte, a victim of the horrific world of sex trafficking, adds depth and urgency to the narrative. Her resilience in the face of unimaginable pain is a testament to the strength of the human spirit. The bond that develops between these two damaged souls is a poignant subplot within the larger investigation. This budding connection is handled with care and respect.

The pacing of the novel is superb. As the killer remains elusive, Mettner masterfully ratchets up the tension. Each step forward in the investigation feels dangerous, keeping readers firmly on the edge of their seats.

Fans of gritty crime thrillers will appreciate this novel's unflinching look at the darker side of society. The Red River Slayer is equally appealing for those seeking stories with characters driven by trauma and the enduring power of hope and justice.

Although this is book three (and probably my favorite) in the Secure One series, you can jump in at any point. The Red River Slayer is live today!

More About the Book

The following is copied from the Amazon sales page.

Confronting their pasts

 …to stop an infamous killer

When a fourth woman is found dead in a river, security expert Mack Holbock takes on the search for a cunning serial killer. A disabled vet, Mack is consumed by guilt that’s left him with no room or desire for love. But while investigating and facing danger with Charlotte—a traumatized victim of sex trafficking—he must protect her and win her trust…without falling for her.

From Harlequin Intrigue: Seek thrills. Solve crimes. Justice served.

Discover more action-packed stories in the Secure One series. All books are stand-alone with uplifting endings but were published in the following order:

Book 1: Going Rogue in Red Rye County

Book 2: The Perfect Witness

Book 3: The Red River Slayer

More About Author Katie Mettner

(Also copied from Amazon)

Author Katie MettnerKatie Mettner wears the title of 'the only person to lose her leg after falling down the bunny hill' and loves decorating her prosthetic leg to fit the season. She lives in Northern Wisconsin with her own happily-ever-after and spends the day writing romantic stories with her sweet puppy by her side. Katie has an addiction to coffee and dachshunds and a lessening aversion to Pinterest — now that she’s quit trying to make the things she pins.

Read about more of Katie's adventures as an amputee writer at

Come chat with Katie on Facebook


Are you a Pinner? Pin with Katie

The Red River Slayer by Katie Mettner Book Review